A delegation of people


The organization – ENOS – is working to promote outdoor sports across Europe
The European Network of Outdoor Sports (ENOS) was established as a not for profit organisation at the Nature and Outdoor Sports Euro’Meet conference in 2013 (Liptovsky Mikulas, Slovakia). Participants recognized that no organization was representing outdoor sports at a European level and called for a representative organization. ENOS became a network of European experts, local authorities, federations, universities, practitioners and outdoor sports enthusiasts.

The main objectives are:

  • Representing outdoor sports at a strategic level in Europe.
  • Promoting that outdoor sport can provide genuine environmental, educative, social and economic benefits to individuals, communities, regions and nations.
  • Supporting the organization and management of outdoor sports both on a national and transnational basis.
  • Encouraging trans-national approaches to the recognition of leaders, instructors and coaches, to develop mobility and employment.
  • Assisting initiatives that promote responsible and sustainable access and use of landscape, marine areas, habitats and eco-systems.


Promoting outdoor sports across Europe together, ENOS has been working on:

  • being a network organization for the development, promotion and management of outdoor sports across Europe
  • participating in expert groups concerning sport on a European level and to connect to the sport unit of the EU in Brussels in order to represent the interests of outdoor sports in the decision making process
  • strengthening the evidence about the social benefits of outdoor sports by fostering pan-European projects and producing knowledge on outdoor sports
  • connecting outdoor sport enthusiasts and experts from across Europe and supports the exchange of knowledge. One important instrument is the Euro’Meet conference that is organized every two years
  • bringing together partners to develop Erasmus+ projects. An example is get WET and BOSS


The ENOS Board is elected for two years at the general assembly and all members are volunteers.

Mike McClure
(Sport Northern Ireland – UK)

Vice Chairman
João Zamith
(Surf Club Viana – Portugal)

Maxine Gregory
(Sheffield Hallam University – UK)

Andreas Thomann
(Technical University Munich – Germany)

Mark Torsius
(International Mountain Bicycling Association Europe – Netherland)
Barbara Eigenschenk
(Technical University Munich – Germany)

Eduard Ingles Yuba
(National institute of physical education of Catalonia – Spain)

Cécilia Doteggour
(French Federation of Horse Riding – France)

Petar Iankov
(National Sports Academy – Bulgaria)

Michel Bazile
(National sailing school – France)

Francis Gaillard
(National outdoor sports ressource center – Sports Ministry – France)

Casper Lindemann
(NOC & Sportsconfederation of Denmark)

Tilman Sobek
(Mountain Bike Forum – Germany)

John Bogelund
(Municipality of Silkeborg – Denmark)

Leonardo la Rocca
(Region Lombardia – Italy)

David Rontet
(École Nationale de Voile et des Sports Nautiques – France)

Nico Graaf
(Mountain Bike Forum – Germany)

General Secretariat: Benjamin Billet
(National outdoor sports ressource center – Sports Ministry – France)